A Lesson I ‘Gained’ From.

I’ve come across many people who start doing something for the sole purpose of reaping its benefits. They see the “profit” in doing it and only when they they think that it is befitting the effort, they undertake that activity.

I don’t get this.

There is an old Hindi saying which goes,

“कर्म किए जा, फल की प्रतीक्षा ना कर।”

which roughly translates into “Continue doing what you must without expecting or waiting for a result.”

There are many things that we don’t do just because its result isn’t enticing. I feel we should try everything, start everything (and finish it), if only to enjoy it and not benefit from it.

Life is here and now. So let us live in the ‘here and now’. Why worry about the future and what it’ll bring with it?

My mother says we should never assume anything. Then why do we assume that a certain activity or project will turn out to be useless for us?

Useless? Impossible.
Nothing is useless, you will definitely gain something from it. And so what if you don’t? So what if you “gain” nothing out of it? You had a good time doing it, it was a new experience for you and that is all that matters, isn’t it?

You won’t know if that something is a worth a shot until you try it out. (I know I’ve been saying this a lot these past few days but it is true in so many respects!)

A fellow blogger and friend, Randall Collis, the creative mind behind China Sojourns Photography once told me about the philosophy of Dao-de-Jing. It goes something like this,

“Do not force the issue, just let things flow like water and you will end up where you are supposed to be (and you’ll enjoy the ride along the way!).”

I agree with every word of it.
The point is, do you?

8 thoughts on “A Lesson I ‘Gained’ From.

  1. Here in New York it’s just rush rush rush. But that doesn’t stop me from jut stopping every once in a while and doing something just because it satisfies me. I draw sometimes or write and do it out of the simple love of it. So I volunteered at an art institution and helped out for free. For me it was the mere experience I had that made up fr working without any benefits. Those memories I made can never be replaced by dollar amounts! And that’s why I totally agree with you. We should do things simply what we believe in. 🙂

    Like

    • I completely relate to what you’re saying, Abinash. I can imagine what it must’ve been like, working at the institution. 🙂 Its the kind of stuff that I’ve always wanted to do. Unfortunately, in India, there aren’t such opportunities so I am missing out… Sometimes, while taking a stroll, I just stop, look up, close my eyes and inhale deeply; I enjoy the moment. My friends are used to me doing that and I’m so glad that they understand it.
      Thank you for the thoughtful comment!

      Like

  2. These are really important thoughts. You’re right, too often we only do things if we feel we will get something out of the deal. I’m guilty. But it’s so true that we should just simply do what’s right. We’d be happier that way in the long run.

    Like

    • Thank you for the thoughtful comment, Lara. 🙂
      I think every one of us is guilty of this at some point in life. The difference comes if we realize that we *are* guilty of it.
      Me? I’m impulsive. Half of the time, I do things not thinking about what it is going to cost me. But that doesn’t mean I’m rash – a very fine line, see?
      I think in today’s day and age, its hard not to think of the “use” of doing things. Everybody is in such hurry for… for God knows what, that they’d rather not do the useless stuff. Sad!

      Like

Oh look! Its Feedback O'Clock!

