Quick Quote – MAY

“The problem, of course, isn’t being alone, but in how we think about being alone. We fear it, pity it, do anything in our power to avoid it. And yet, in the modern frenzy of social media, smartphones and overpopulated cities, loneliness can be a luxury. Isolation, silence, the longing to be among people and forced self-reflection are all incredibly useful, especially if you want to achieve something creative.

Being on your own is how you learn to value company. Silence is what gives value to conversation. Having nobody to ask is how you work out what you really want. It may not always feel like it, but loneliness can be incredibly productive.”

–ย Nell Frizzell,ย Embracing Loneliness: A Modern Guide

*

This quote is from an article I recently read. It helped me feel better about being alone and to be honest, made me want to not try too hard to change my situation.
This quote is truth put simply.

Your thoughts?

6 thoughts on “Quick Quote – MAY

  1. I love solitude and in a sense loneliness, although I think the term loneliness is sad and disheartening. I much prefer to think, to ponder and I do it best alone ๐Ÿ™‚ It is who I am, and I feel quite good about it ~ although I must admit when I am not connected to the world such as leaving my cell phone at home when I am out it is a bit uncomfortable. A strange contradiction. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

      • Good question ~ I think the term loneliness is used throughout writing as well as songs as being in this state of sadness; a state of not being able to find someone to be with (as if it is not a choice). A barren life. Where as that is not the case for people who choice the ‘lonely life’ as a pursuit in other areas that I suppose ‘normal society’ does not fully grasp ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

Oh look! Its Feedback O'Clock!

